Mightier than the Sword – On Redbubble

pen_IMG_20191019_132646_053I was so pleased with my calligraphy and concept that I needed this to become merchandise~

Made my first real word art by hand today… and all inspired by my black Copic marker sharting pigment all over my hand.
As I started lettering everything out, though… initially I was chuckling to myself, because the first attempt ended in me messing up because I was trying to go ahead and ink it before laying it out, so I had to start over. As an artist, it amused me terribly.
However, the more I thought about it, the phrase took on a different meaning…
“Just because you haven’t physically struck someone, doesn’t mean you haven’t hurt them.”
“Choose your words carefully, lest you say something you don’t mean.”
“Your words carry weight.”
The meticulous attention to details on the small 5×7 card I was working on murdered my arthritis (which was already aching from the weather today)… but the imperfections in the linework seem incredibly apropos to the subject. I’m pleased with the final result on this, nevertheless. Hopefully this will be as appreciated by others; whether you read it as inspirational, word of warning, or situationally humorous, I hope it makes you feel.